4 comments on “Remembering Tranquility Bay

  1. WE parents were duped and it is appauling to think there were people out there that seemed so concerned about our children. How much they cared and they opened out of love for children that had lost their way. But it was all for the money for those bastards! They should all be in prison with the exception of one brave, brave lady, who will remain nameless, that called me and told me to get my child out. I wish I could thank her for saving my wonderful daughter. I wish someone had spoken up for all the children. It is a guilt I will always live with as a parent. Paula

    • Hi Paula – I applaud you for speaking out so openly about both your guilt and the fact that you found WWASP to be deceptive and wrong for what they did. I wish more parents would join you. I think it is the very guilt you speak of, though, that leaves most of them struggling in denial.

  2. my name is kiersten. i am 24 years old and when i was 13 i was put into cross creek, a wwasp facility in utah. my first two weeks at cross creek i spent in the seclusion room. they woke me up one night and told me i was going to high impact in mexico. i had no idea how bad that camp actually was gonna be. to this day i still have so much rage inside me from what happened to me in mexico and utah. i was forced to eat my vomit on a regular basis, put into cages in the dirt, and degraded more than any human should ever be. there truely is a hell on earth. i too feel like a captive. i tried putting all this behind me but the truth is that it effects me on a daily basis. after trying to avoid my past in mexico and utah for the last 11 years, i stumbled across antiwwasp and found people with similar experiences. i had no idea all the things that happened to me are still happening to kids around the world. i would go to any lengths to stop wwasp. if anyone reads this and has any information on how i can get involved to stop what is going on in these facilities, please leave a reply. i can’t sit here and do nothing knowing what is going on behind those locked doors.

    • Hey 🙂 Thank you for having the courage to speak out! If you would like to submit your experiences to this blog, that would be a great start. We’re also looking for 30-60 second video campaigns in support of new Federal legislation that would help to regulate the industry (including degrading/humiliating punishments, inappropriate usage of restraint and seclusion, etc). You can e-mail me at wwaspdiaries(at)gmail. I’ll publish anything you share, and edit if you want. The more people who share what they experienced, the stronger our voices become. Your story may be one that some other child stumbles across, shortly after returning home from captivity, and learns they are not alone. 🙂

Leave a comment