2 comments on “Memoir Excerpt – Part Four

  1. Did you ever take the time during this trial to look at what you contributed to being placed here? I know that it was with agonizing and overwhelming feeling of saddness and fear that I agreed to your being placed. However, this also came with a reccomendation from a highly regarded social worker we were all talking with and also with the fact that you were gone sometimes for several days at a time without my knowing where you were. Some of the things you told me you were doing at this time have later been changed to your just kind of making things up, but at the time I really believed all you said you were doing. With no other option for help, I prayed this would work somehow for you and was willing to lose your love for me if it could break the self inflicted mission of destroying yourself that I saw you on. I always try very hard to honestly answer every question you pose to me about why this was a choice and I am wondering if you hold yourself to the same standards of truth you demand from me about your contribution to this place and being there? Sometimes we all have the desire to take every distasteful part of a bad experience and make it the “reason” for part of our issues. But in the end, every one of us has to at some point look deepest inside ourselves and accept our roles in why things like this even become an option let alone a reality. Again I will state every decision we made came from our fear of getting that dreaded phone call about your life, about wanting to help even if it meant losing your love, and being so afraid because there were no other apparent answers left for us to probe. Dad

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your story. Children, even 17-year-old children, need to be cared for and shown unconditional love and support. Parents ought to provide a loving place for their children and give them more freedom, not less. Children need to learn their own lessons, their way, just as we have in the past. I hope that families considering just sending their child off somewhere read this and look into exactly what these “treatment” centers do, and find out from graduates if the program was effective or helpful. Best of luck to you in all of your future endeavors, and please continue to spread the message!

Leave a comment